S Ontario newbie w/ questions

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

gthomson

S Ontario newbie w/ questions

Post by gthomson »

I'm a complete beginner at this, but I've signed up for a couple of courses and have some skill-building projects in mind for the near term.

Two questions, though:

Is there a chemical test for the tin side of float glass? I have easier access to chem labs than UV lights right at the moment.

Does anybody have kiln time for rent in S. Ontario, anywhere between London and Mississauga? The place I'm taking the course has time for rent, but their opening hours won't allow me to get there more than once or twice a month.

Cheers,

Glenn
Ron Coleman

Post by Ron Coleman »

No chemical test that I know of, but give it the taste test.

http://www.warmglass.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=3600

Worked for me. Try it with a light first so you know which side the tin is on and then you can calibtrate your tongue.

Ron
gthomson

Post by gthomson »

Ron Coleman wrote:No chemical test that I know of, but give it the taste test.

http://www.warmglass.com/phpBB/viewtopic.php?t=3600

Worked for me. Try it with a light first so you know which side the tin is on and then you can calibtrate your tongue.

Ron
Mmm.... Tin....

This is reclaimed glass. Guess I'd better clean it thoroughly.

Thanks for the link. I've been going through the archives, but there's a lot to absorb.

Cheers,

Glenn
Amy on Salt Spring

Post by Amy on Salt Spring »