Fusing w/BE Thin Irid

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Catwoman

Fusing w/BE Thin Irid

Post by Catwoman »

:shock:
I am in a state of frustration : (
I have been fusing glass for 7 years or so but am in a quandry right now. What I am trying to so is so simple & yet my efforts so far have failed.
All I want to do is fuse a piece of dichro about 1/4" by 3/4" (face up) to a small peice of irid thin BE about 1/2" by 1" .
I have tried going slow slow and also gone fast to 700 and then slow slow to acheive the fuse. Each time I still get the "pulling" effect on the irid thin. Does anyone have a schedule for something like this? My goal is not a full fuse but a stick fuse with soft edges.I am trying it initially with the lil Hot Box but will transfering larger batches to my vintage glass glow (20") if I am ever able to get it down : )

Thank you in advance for any idea's that you may have!!!
~Cat~[/b]
Linda Hassur

Post by Linda Hassur »

Irid won't stick to dichroic unless you sandblast off the edges of both so they have a surface to fuse against. They "repel" each other. Linda
Catwoman

Thin iridw/dichro....

Post by Catwoman »

thank you Linda. I have fused dichro with irid alot. It fuses fine as ling as the dichro side is "up" . If the two metals meet (not the best description I know) then you will experience the repeling that you refer to. The problem that I am refering to is actually the thin ird bullseye as it needs to be fired differntely than my standard schedules. Thank you for trying though : )
~Cat~ :roll:
Dick Ditore

Post by Dick Ditore »

If I read you correctly, the irid is stretching or pulling? The only thing I can think of is the thin is trying to pull back to 1/4". Can you use more glass, or try doubling it up?

Dick
Ron Coleman

Post by Ron Coleman »