non coe rated glass

This forum is for questions from newcomers to kiln-forming.

Moderator: Tony Smith

Bill Groenwald

non coe rated glass

Post by Bill Groenwald »

I've been working with cold glass for a few years and have recently purchased a kiln. I have a small amount of both COE 90 and COE 96 glass and am preparing some test firings. I understand COE and that you don't mix different COE glass in the same project. However, I'm also planning on doing some tests using some of the non COE rated glass that I've accumulated over the years. As long as I use pieces from the same sheet of glass for a project, are there any reasons that I cannot use that glass?

Thanks,
Bill in KY
Judd

Re: non coe rated glass

Post by Judd »

It depends. I've had the best luck using Spectrum and Bullseye glass - again, the same sheet melted together. Ring mottles and streakies tend to turn rather unpleasant poop colors. But, please experiment. I once knew a lady who successfully fused light blue ring mottle glass to make snowflakes.
Bert Weiss

Post by Bert Weiss »

Bill, you have to test. The big reason you might encounter problems is that before fusible glass, the formulas used were not maximized for re-heating. So, they tend to be far more devit prone than glasses formulated for fusing. Opals will be more problematic than transparents.

Lesson one in fusing is that COE is only one factor that determines compatibility. Viscosity is another. These can work to balance out stress, or increase it. Chances are, compatible glasses have differing COE's. Also COE changes in different temperature ranges. What happens at 300 could be totally different from what happens at 700ºF.
Bert

Bert Weiss Art Glass*
http://www.customartglass.com
Furniture Lighting Sculpture Tableware
Architectural Commissions
Vonon

Post by Vonon »