Another newbie question, please...

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Bellknap

Another newbie question, please...

Post by Bellknap »

Ok, this is kind of a stupid question, but I am a beginner in this field. Say you cut a glass circle for a top or bottom piece and it cracks. A clean crack for shards, can you still use it? Can you simple use it during the fusing process like you would other pieces of glass in your project? Thanks and I have posted a photo of one of my lampwork winestoppers, so you don't think I am a total geek. See after the learning curve I get much better, ha ha. Lydia
Stuart Clayman

Post by Stuart Clayman »

If you have a clean crack and you can get the 2 pieces next to each other and then have a full sheet under it, it is no different than butting 2 different pieces of glass next to each other over or under a full sheet. If you are using irids you will get some pulling. It does work easier if the cracked pieces are on the bottom with the full sheet on the top. Or else have some strip decorating the crack.
Kiln Repair by a Clayman kilnrepair@yahoo.com
Glassworks by a Clayman
http://www.GlassArtists.org/GlassworksByAClayman
charlie

Re: Another newbie question, please...

Post by charlie »

Bellknap wrote:Ok, this is kind of a stupid question, but I am a beginner in this field. Say you cut a glass circle for a top or bottom piece and it cracks. A clean crack for shards, can you still use it? Can you simple use it during the fusing process like you would other pieces of glass in your project? Thanks and I have posted a photo of one of my lampwork winestoppers, so you don't think I am a total geek. See after the learning curve I get much better, ha ha. Lydia
it will heal, but it'll show in the final piece.
Cyndi

float

Post by Cyndi »

Okay, here is a real newbie question. What is "float"
Cyndi
Cyndi