Hotbox creativity block

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

camaro

Hotbox creativity block

Post by camaro »

Well I have been doing jewelry and would like to do other things in my Hotbox, but have hit a creative roadblock. Any suggestions as to what I could do? Also do they make a mold for light switch covers? That is about as far as my creativity took me. I am an artist, and creative blocks do come and go, but with the Hotbox I feel limited. Am I? Or are there really cool things to do in it, and I just don't know what they are?
Need help, Thanks to those who help get my creative juices going again.
Camaro :D
Barb

Post by Barb »

How about magnets, coasters, picture frames and murrini bars to start? ALso pieces to make wind chimes too.

Barb
Tony Smith

Post by Tony Smith »

You can try small combings, different surface treatments like micas or enamels, metal inclusions, open face casting, kiln carving, turn your hotbox into a vitrigraph for making stringer, bracelets, tiles, candle shelters...

Tony
The tightrope between being strange and being creative is too narrow to walk without occasionally landing on both sides..." Scott Berkun
Jackie Beckman

Post by Jackie Beckman »

Try thinking of components you can make in your small kiln. For example, make up 16 interesting small pieces with an outter stand and drill holes to connect them with wire in a 4/row by 4/ row square. Suddenly you're not so limited at all - you can make pieces as big as you'd like. Thats just an example - but it will get you thinking out of the box - or I should say, out of the "hotbox." :roll:
Rob Morey

Post by Rob Morey »

Hi Camaro,