Self doubt

This forum focuses on the artistic "why" and "what" more than the technical "how". Put more philosophical (but still art and glass related) posts here.

Moderator: Tony Smith

Kathie Karancz

Self doubt

Post by Kathie Karancz »

So.. Again I start my path along the road of trying to be an artist.
I just finished with my mid-life crisis and finally am in a spot where I can unpack my studio.
I have been working with glass for over 30 years and have always thought my work as being so so. I know my technique is good but I am never happy with the results. I look at other people's work and see beautiful works of art and want to be "as good as" but for some reason, I can't ever seem to give myself kuddos and not feel insecure when I present my work.
I'm contually taking lessons, buying new supplies but keep just hovering.
Other questions that keep popping into this insecure mind is.. Why bother, what do I do with it, who would want it. Am I just lazy? I love glass and working with it so it's not because I don't like it.
So now I ask all you artists out there: how do you get to a place where you create and not overthink it? How do you accept compliments on your work and not go.. "Thank you but it I could have done a better job", or be in a place where you proudly put your work out there and not be uncomfortable and insecure?
:( :-k
Kathie Karancz
Tribal Turtle
Victoria, British Columbia
http://www.tribalturtle.com
Bert Weiss

Re: Self doubt

Post by Bert Weiss »

Kathie

The best thing I can say is keep working. The quest is to see yourself in your work. Eventually you will see yourself emerge from the work. As this happens focus on that and make it grow. Considering your love of the medium and the process, this should flow easily.
Bert

Bert Weiss Art Glass*
http://www.customartglass.com
Furniture Lighting Sculpture Tableware
Architectural Commissions
Suzette A

Post by Suzette A »