Saying a belated hello

This forum focuses on the artistic "why" and "what" more than the technical "how". Put more philosophical (but still art and glass related) posts here.

Moderator: Tony Smith

Peter McCarthy

Saying a belated hello

Post by Peter McCarthy »

Prompted by Marty's "it's too quiet" post over in Spab's Forum, I thought I'd ramble a bit about my relatively new journey in fusing. I've been blowing glass for about 15 years. I started fusing 3 1/2 years ago. I took a course at Corning with Josh Simpson and Gabrielle Küstner (and Gayla Lee, our great TA) which combined cane making, assembly, and cold working techniques. What I learned and made there hooked me on fusing, just like my first gather from the furnace hooked me on blowing. Soon after I got home I set up a studio in my basement, bought a kiln, and got started.

Because I'm cheap I've done a lot of my fusing with free glass. Among the kinds I've experimented with are tempered glass, old (pre-float) sheet glass, and my personal favorite, Vitrolite. I'm probably penny-wise-pound-foolish cheap since I bought a bigger kiln than I need and will get a new glass tool at the drop of a hat, but will spend countless hours figuring out how to cut, fuse, prevent devit, etc. on "free" glass. I also love to create murrine pieces from cane I pull or buy and coat with vitreous paint. The intentionality, the repetitive actions, and the focused attention to detail in making these pieces really satisfies me.