Bullseye ThinFire instead of kilm wash on metal molds

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Marie Duncan

Bullseye ThinFire instead of kilm wash on metal molds

Post by Marie Duncan »

:) I am completely new at this. Just finished reading Brad Walker book. It is great. Want to share with anyone interested that I have had good results in using a piece of ThinFire between glass and stainless steel molds. This makes it possible to use these molds for draping without using kilnwash. Which I find to be a big pain. Just cut the ThinFire slightly larger than the piece of glass.

Marie
charlie

Post by charlie »

draping means outside? that's what your supposed to do with steel molds. or do you mean inside the form? does the paper fold up and leave marks on the glass?
Marie Duncan

ThinFire on metal molds

Post by Marie Duncan »

Yes I mean on the outside of mold. ThinFire is a light weight shelf paper and it replaces the need for a kilm wash on the metal mold. I find it time consumming and difficult to get kilm wash to stick to the metal and this is a very quick and satisfactory solution. I have not seen anything mentioned in articles or have not found anyone else that has tried this method.

Marie
jim simmons

Post by jim simmons »

charlie wrote:draping means outside? that's what your supposed to do with steel molds. or do you mean inside the form? does the paper fold up and leave marks on the glass?
works just fine. No marks that I can see.

Jim
Marie Duncan

Post by Marie Duncan »

Sorry Charlie I didn't answer your question regarding the surface. It is very similar to kilm wash. No problem with folding. The paper appears to adhere to glass and follows through the melt. Washes off with warm water.