melted bottles

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Mary V

melted bottles

Post by Mary V »

Hi everyone- I am a newbie too and I want to try something that I think should be very basic-
I want to flatten a wine bottle to make a tray. I have seen this in shops, and I think that it would be a good way to try out my kiln for glass- What do I place the bottle on? how do I know what temps to go to if it is a bottle? I have 2 kilns ( I work at a school) one is a top loading skutt with a temp tender attached, and the other is a big old front load alpine with a weird little shut off device. Which one should I use?
can anyone help???
Mary V.
Roseau, MN
Brad Walker
Site Admin

Post by Brad Walker »

Lots on this in the Archives.

This will get you started: http://www.warmglass.com/Bottles.htm
Linda Hassur

Post by Linda Hassur »

I've had problems with a bubble at the neck of the bottle when the rest of the bottle was perfectly flat. Any suggestions on how to avoid that? Thanks Linda
Diane

Post by Diane »

it's hard to avoid that bubble at the neck. The neck closes in before the rest of the air is forced out and a small amount gets trapped. No way to really avoid it that I know of. I think it adds a little character to it.
Good Luck, Diane
charlie

Post by charlie »

if you turn it over, that bubble and the folded over foot make a pretty stable platform. i sandblast a pattern into the top flat layer that was against the shelf.

another idea is to not slump it flat, but rounded off. the center caves in and the neck droops, but the bottom is flat. this makes an ideal spoon rest. you'll have to experiment with temps and times to get it to look good for you.
Lauri Levanto

Colar for bottle neck

Post by Lauri Levanto »

I made a clay support under the neck.
It goes half way around, and keeps the neck loger in shape.