The screw on running pliers.

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Barry Kaiser

The screw on running pliers.

Post by Barry Kaiser »

Just a fun question.
I have been fusing for many years and obviously used running pliers all that time.

Often when I use the pliers I wonder what good that screw on the pliers does. When the pliers are in place to separate the glass, neither the pliers nor the glass knows where that screw is. The glass just reacts to the stress applied by the pliers.

Why the screw?
Brad Walker
Site Admin

Re: The screw on running pliers.

Post by Brad Walker »

The screw should be adjusted to slightly less than the thickness of your glass. That's really critical when cutting thicker pieces of glass. If the screw is all the way down (like most people have it, but shouldn't), then you apply too much pressure to the score and will have more trouble getting a good break.

It's also helpful to let you know to "always screw up" when using the running pliers.
Barry Kaiser

Post by Barry Kaiser »

Brad or anyone.

I understand the use of the screw, but not the benefit.
Since the glass is not flexible, neither the glass nor the pliers know the position of the screw when the break is made. Once pressure is applied to the pliers, the glass has to fully break for the screw to come into play.
Thus my question, what good does the screw do.
Barry Kaiser

Post by Barry Kaiser »

let me add one thing here. The thickest glass I break is 6 mil, so thicker glass may behave differently.
Brad Walker
Site Admin

Post by Brad Walker »

Barry Kaiser wrote: Once pressure is applied to the pliers, the glass has to fully break for the screw to come into play.