Ratio for combining two glass enamels

This forum is for questions from newcomers to kiln-forming.

Moderator: Tony Smith

Katrina Corry

Ratio for combining two glass enamels

Post by Katrina Corry »

Hi all I’m new at this. Would love advice about the ratio to combine two glass enamel powders to achieve a different colour. I want a deep dark red and am looking at Thompson’s ‘Victoria’ and ‘Flame Red’
I am however finding it hard to find somewhere to buy these two colours. I’m in Australia.
Barry Kaiser

Re: Ratio for combining two glass enamels

Post by Barry Kaiser »

The only way to find out is to experiment.
Very small quantities work fine, so just run some tests.
Buttercup

Post by Buttercup »

Hi Katrina,

Welcome. You did say you are new to all this so don't be insulted if I comment that there are a lot of art supplies companies in Australia that advertise 'Glass Paint' but they are actually selling paints that are not to be fired in a kiln. They simply put a skin of colour on the glass; they don't fire into the surface and become one with the glass.

Since you're asking here I imagine you're looking for traditional glass paints for painting and firing in a kiln so they become part of the glass. That's clumsy but it will do to differentiate.

Here are some Australian suppliers:

https://www.glassfusing.com.au ( I think they're in the southern Highlands, or Canberra area.)

https://hartleywilliams.com.au/( Brendale, Brisbane north)

Blue Dog glass. I can't find their website. They may have it off-line for updating but their email is:
info@bluedogglass.com.au They are in the Dandenong Ranges, East of Melbourne.

Good luck and enjoy!
Don Burt

Post by Don Burt »