NEW STUDIO AND KILN RECOMMENDATIONS

This is the main board for discussing general techniques, tools, and processes for fusing, slumping, and related kiln-forming activities.

Moderators: Brad Walker, Tony Smith

Bozurka Pejcic

NEW STUDIO AND KILN RECOMMENDATIONS

Post by Bozurka Pejcic »

[color=violet][/color]
Hi guys,
I feel like a preschooler talking to collage students. I hope you will have patience for me.

I am an architect in love with glass of any sort, shape and form. Fused glass is something I have been wanting to do for long, long time and never had time for it.
Now I am a new mom and not working. I have time, but know nothing about it. :cry:
Don’t you worry. I am not expecting you to teach me!!! :lol:

For now I have one question

We have 400SF of basement (with a little window-better something than nothing) that we would like to turn into glass studio, working on plates, etc…. pieces up to 16â€
Bozurka, Seattle
Barbara Muth

Re: NEW STUDIO AND KILN RECOMMENDATIONS

Post by Barbara Muth »

Bozurka Pejcic wrote:We have 400SF of basement (with a little window-better something than nothing) that we would like to turn into glass studio, working on plates, etc…. pieces up to 16” x 16”(or so)

IF YOU HAD A CHANCE TO CREATE A NEW STUDIO AFTER ALL YOUR EXPERIENCE WORKING WITH GLASS (that I don’t have) WHAT WOULD BE APSOLUTE MUST FOR COMFORTABLE AND ORGANIZED WORK (as much artist’s studio can be organized)-EQUIPMENT, FURNITURE,…..
AND WHAT KILN WOULD YOU RECOMMEND?

Oops I guess it was not just a one question

Ok, the last one is

WHAT BOOKS YOU WOULD RECOMMEND FOR A GLASS PRESCHOOLER WHO CAN CATCH UP QUICKLY AND WANT TO GAIN A LOT OF TECHNICAL KNOWLADGE AND NOT GLASS HISTORY and long introductions…

Thank you
I appreciate your help in advance
Bozurka, I think that everyone would have a different answer to your first question about how to set up a studio. Lots of information regarding equipment, kilns, organization of your space in the archives.