when galleries seem very interested but want to think

The forum for discussion on business aspects of working with glass.

Moderator: Brad Walker

Leslie Ihde

when galleries seem very interested but want to think

Post by Leslie Ihde »

I am new to approaching galleries, so I'm interested in how often people experience something like this: The gallery owner (seeing my work in person) seems to sincerely love my work, hedges over the price and asks for pictures to share with his or her partners before deciding. Is this a very nice "no", or should I feel optimistic. I witness the gallery owner's reaction to my work and do feel that she does love it. She says she is getting a big shipment of glass very soon, however, and isn't sure this is the time. Wants to get back to me after she sees the shipment (cheap eastern european glass). Please don't spare my feelings, but give me some thoughts.

Leslie
Leslie Ihde
Turning Point Studio
Vestal, New York
Brock

Post by Brock »

A no is a no, no matter how nicely it's phrased. But get back to them, show that you are interested. Brock
My memory is so good, I can't remember the last time I forgot something . . .
Dennis Brady

Post by Dennis Brady »

It might be just what it appears - or it may be the hesitation is more about you personally then your work.

One of the realities you must accept is that gallery owners have learned to be cautious taking on a new artisan. The reality is that the majority of artisans are so non-businesslike, they're flatout unreliable flakey. I'm often asked if I can recommend a "good" artisan in some particular medium. I've learned that their request for "good" doesn't mean one that does outstanding work, but means they're "good" at filling their promises and meeting committments. The going gag with gallery owners is, "When an artist promise delivery next Monday, be sure to specify which month".