Unwanted asymmetry when slumping

This forum is for questions from newcomers to kiln-forming.

Moderator: Tony Smith

Sulie

Unwanted asymmetry when slumping

Post by Sulie »

Hello, and greetings from Austria. I am very new to kiln forming and have run into a wall. I am trying to make small, simple, slumped dishes: my kiln is a Paragon Sc2 so space is limited to approx. 5" by 5". My fusing is going well, the pieces turn out as I intend, i.e. square. But when I try to slump into a mold the dishes turn out wider at the front than at the back. Some are also slightly curved in at the sides, but this doesnt bother me as the curves are at least symmetrical. I have double checked that the kiln is standing straight, both from front to back and side to side. I also do my best to place the fused tile straight in the mold.
I am using the following firing schedule (centigrade):
ramp at 260 to 535, hold for 20 min.
ramp at 500 to 750, hold for 30 min............... I fired my first dish a bit cooler than this, but it didnt slump til I refired it: both times coming out assymetrically.
afap to 515, hold for 30
ramp at 250 to 150, turn off

Another question: at the edges of the glass, where it has expanded and then contracted, I have a rim (about 1/8") of roughness from the mold: it's not particularly attractive and I'd be pleased if I could avoid it.
I realize that these are very basic questions, but I havent been able to find an answer anywhere. I'd be most grateful for the advice of those much more experienced than I.
Thank you in advance,
Sulie
ElaineC

Re: Unwanted asymmetry when slumping

Post by ElaineC »

Hello Sulie,

Could the uneven slumping be due to the temperature differential in your kiln between the front (near the door) and the back?

You don't say what type of glass you are using, but I also have an SC2 and here is my slumping schedule (in Centigrade) for Bullseye glass into a fairly shallow mould:

Seg Ramp Temp Hold
1 200 520 25
2 300 680 5
3 FULL 482 45